About TCW

Composition of the Commission

Office of the Commission

Activities of the Commission

Statistical Overview


Highlights of Success Stories

Our Publications & Studies

Library of the Commission


  Complain through e-mail

Photo Album

  Act and Rules Relating to Women
  Welfare Scheme for Women
  SPIO under RTI Act,2005
  Contact Us
  NIC Mail


Composition of the Commission

Smt. Manika Dutta Roy,
Chairperson since

After Graduation She started her career in 1968 as Govt. Employee in the Public Works Department (PWD) & retired from service on 2008. She rendered her service to Tripura Govt. Employees Association (TGEA) as Jt. Secretary & as Cultural Secretary to Govt. Pensioners Association, Tripura. Presently she is the Member of Advisory Committee of TGEA. She showed her excellence while working with the women of Un-organised sectors as well as with Mid-day Meal Workers Union etc. Now she is the Vice-President of All India Mid-day Meal Workers Federation. She is also a Member of Social Security Board of Tripura, being a representative from Un-organised sector. She acted as Vice-Chairperson of Tripura Commission for Women from 01-07-2012 to 14-02-16. She is prominent social activist of the state.

Smt. Tulsi Debbarma,
Member since
+91-9402387506 (M)
Served in the Department of School Education (1982-2010). Social Worker and currently working for the welfare of unorganized sectors of working women.
Dr. Pranati Modak.
Member since

M.A., B.Ed., M.P.Ed., Ph.D, Diploma in Coaching. She served as Asstt. Teacher, Physical Instructor from the year 1964 to 1975; as Jr. & Sr. Coach in different Govt. Organization from the year 1976 to 1991; as Senior Coach in Govt. B.Ed. College, Agartala from the year 1992 to 2004 and letter on engaged as a Guest Lecturer and external & internal examiner in Tripura University. In the Year 2003, she received an Award from Govt. of Tripura as “Best Teacher”. She also published some syllabus oriented books namely “Adhunik Sharir Shikha and Shikshna Podhyati” ; “Karma Shiksha O sharer Shiksha Padhyati”& “Shustha Thakun Anande Thakun” etc. Being a social activist she is a member of various social organizations such as Child Welfare Society, Tripura Rabindra Parisad, Chetana- institute of women studies, etc. She has joined the Tripura Commission for Women as Member on 1st July 2015.

Smt. Jayita Debnath.,
Member since

B.A.,LL.B She had completed her graduation in law from Patna University Law College, Bihar. During her tenure of study in the said college she participated in Inter State Debate Competition and came out second. She was enrolled as an Advocate in the Year 1998 and since then she is a practicing lawyer of the District Courts, Criminal Courts and Family Court of Agartala as well as High Court of Tripura. As a “Resource person” she took active role in the Legal Awareness Camps organised by the Tripura State Legal Services Authority and went to various remote places as well as other places of Agartala to arose legal awareness among the people there. She was elected Asst. Secretary of Tripura Bar Association in the year 2014. She also worked as Astt. Public Prosecutor in the Judicial Magistrate Courts and is an empanelled lawyer of TIDS Ltd. And New India Assurance Co. Ltd. She has joined the Tripura Commission for Women as Member on 1st July 2015.

Smt. Niyati Roy Barman,
Member since

Rtd. Asst. Headmistress of H.S. School. She has joined the Tripura Commission for Women on 28th April 2016. B.A. Hons. in Political Science & B.Ed. She had been felicitated as an eminent teacher in 49th Teacher’s Day 2010.Department of School Education also felicitated her for sincere work in school and for the contribution in Literature in 50th Teacher’s Day 2011.Her literary work touches the fields of poetry, short story, articles, letters, life sketches etc. Till date eleven books have been published and few more are at the verge of publishing.

Smt. Bakul Das
Member since

M.A.; B.Ed. Joined in Education Department as a Classical Teacher in 1976 and retired as a Headmistress on 2012. She was a Member of Tripura Government Teachers Association (TGTA); Member of Executive Committee of Tripura Government Employees Officer Association (TGEOA) Sadar Sub-Division & also was a Member of Central Committee of TGEOA.

Smt. Aparna De
Member Secretary
since 11-05-2012

M.A in Political Science, B. Ed., M.Ed., Diploma in Women’s Empowerment and Development. She has achieved the top rank in M.A. in Political Science under Tripura University and received medal in the year 1996. She has Served as Child Development Project Officer (CDPO) under the Department of Social Welfare and Social Education from 1st November 2004 to 20th April 2008; served as Assistant Professor in Kabi Nazrul Mahavidyalaya, Sonamura from 21st April 2008 to 10th May 2012 and Presently working as Member Secretary, Tripura Commission for Women since 11th May 2012. She has written a number of Articles on socio-economic, political, and gender issues which have been published by renowned national level publishers and Daily News papers. She has jointly edited a book ‘Right to Development: Issues and Challenges in North-East India’, published by Akanksha Publishing House, New Delhi, in the year 2014. She is also involved with welfare activities for women and children.



Content maintained by Tripura Commission for Women , Melarmath, Agartala, Tripura (W), Ph : 0381 232 3355
Hosted by National Informatics Centre Email : sio-trpr[at]nic[dot]in